Roger Daltrey Announces 'The Who's Tommy Orchestral' Album

Hear a new live version of the classic "Pinball Wizard"
 Roger Daltrey Announces 'The Who's Tommy Orchestral' Album
The Who's Tommy stands as one of rock'n'roll's most classic albums, and with the record marking its 50th anniversary, the band's Roger Daltrey is releasing an orchestral remake of the entire 1969 rock opera.

Titled simply The Who's Tommy Orchestral, the two-disc live album is set to arrive on June 14 via Polydor. Right now, though, you can hear the reworking of "Pinball Wizard" from the collection down below.

The reworking of Tommy was captured during Daltrey's 2018 U.S. tour, which found him performing the rock opera each night. David Campbell crafted the new orchestrations, while Roger Daltrey and Keith Levenson produced the set.

"[The Who guitarist] Pete's [Townshend] music is particularly suited to being embellished by the sounds that an orchestra can add to the band," said Daltrey in a statement. "Tommy can mean whatever you want it to mean, I use the characters in it as metaphors for parts of the human condition, so it's a kind of a story of the human spirit. Even though it is 50 years on, I approach it as though I'm singing it for the first time."

Check out the tracklist to The Who's Tommy Orchestral down below, where you'll also find that new version of "Pinball Wizard."

As previously reported, the Who are about to kick off the band's "Moving On!" symphony tour. The group are also planning to release a new album this year.

The Who's Tommy Orchestral:

Disc One:

1. Overture
2. It's A Boy
3. 1921
4. Amazing Journey
5. Sparks
6. Eyesight To The Blind (The Hawker)
7. Christmas
8. Cousin Kevin
9. The Acid Queen
10. Do You Think It's Alright?
11. Fiddle About

Disc Two:

1. Pinball Wizard
2. There's A Doctor
3. Go To The Mirror!
4. Tommy Can You Hear Me?
5. Smash The Mirror
6. Refrain – It's A Boy
7. I'm Free
8. Miracle Cure
9. Sensation
10. Sally Simpson / Gospel Piano Interlude
11. Welcome
12. Tommy's Holiday Camp
13. We're Not Gonna Take It