Bill Fay Readies New Album 'Countless Branches'

Hear new song "Filled with Wonder Once Again" now
Bill Fay Readies New Album 'Countless Branches'
Four years on from sharing Who Is the Sender?, Bill Fay has readied a full-length follow-up effort. Titled Countless Branches, the album arrives January 17 through Dead Oceans.

Produced by Joshua Henry, Countless Branches marks Fay's third effort for the label and finds the folk vet musing on "nature, the family of man, the cycle of life and the ineffable vastness of it all" across its 10 tracks.

You can find the album's artwork from Benjamin A. Vierling above.

A first track from the effort arrives with "Filled with Wonder Once Again," which comes accompanied by an Emily Scaife-directed video.

Of the clip, Scaife explained, "I wanted to create a dreamy, warm world that melted reality into abstraction and filled the audience with wonder, while conveying themes of cycles/phases — both of the tree (inspired by Bill's Countless Branches) as well as the planet more generally. I combined several techniques: hand-drawing shapes and parents in nature; animal skins, organic textures, and coloured gels and slides on overhead projectors to produce soft dappled washes of light."

Countless Branches is now available for pre-order.

Countless Branches:

1. In Human Hands
2. How Long, How Long
3. Your Little Face
4. Salt Of The Earth
5. I Will Remain Here
6. Filled With Wonder Once Again
7. Time's Going Somewhere
8. Love Will Remain
9. Countless Branches
10. One Life
11. Tiny [Bonus Track]
12. Don't Let My Marigolds Die (Live in Studio) [Bonus Track]
13. The Rooster [Bonus Track]
14. Your Little Face (Acoustic Version) [Bonus Track]
15. Filled With Wonder Once Again (Band Version) [Bonus Track]
16. How Long, How Long (Band Version) [Bonus Track]
17. Love Will Remain (Band Version) [Bonus Track]